# MINUTES: Groton Democratic Town Committee Meeting

Thrive 55 Center Groton, CT 06340 6:00 PM

Thursday, July 20, 2023

## I. ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m. by the Chair, Natalie Billing. She declared the purpose of this meeting was to endorse a slate of candidates for Town Council, Board of Education, and RTM, which the GDTC does by Town Committee meeting, not a caucus, per GDTC bylaws.

The following members were present:

District 1: Joe de la Cruz, Tammy de la Cruz, Roscoe Merritt, Lisa Luck, Jeanne Rogers, and Joseph Baril

District 2: Aundre Baumgardner, Juliette Parker, Edward Jacome, Portia Bordelon, Ian Thomas, Bev Washington, Jackie Massett, Betsy Moukawsher, Paul Norris, and Doris Pulaski District 3: Autumn Hanscom, Rashaad Carter, Paul Duarte, Liz Duarte, Beverly Herbert

District 4: Chris Conley, Matthew Shulman, Adam J. Puccino, Shawn Powers, Kristin Powers, Lian Obrey, Jamie Veazie-Williams, Andrew Parrella, Chelsea Meade, and Meredith Key District 5: Juan Melendez, Gary Welles, Melinda Cassiere, Richard Dixon, and Anne-Marie Foster

District 6: Natalie Billing, Dan Gaiewski, Rachael Franco, Rita Schmidt, Katrina Fitzgerald, Kate Richards, Cindy Fortner, Dana Semeraro, Richard Semeraro, and Joanne Wayland-Doyen District 7: John Wirzbicki, Mary von Doster, Bruce Jones, David McBride, Clarence Casper, Emily Norman, Jenna Lowenstein, Bob Frink, Cutter Oliver, Don Levenson, Alex Koumanelis, Jim Hutson, Nancy Codeanne, and Mary Ellen Furlong

#### **REMARKS**

Natalie welcomed everyone and thanked everyone for coming. She remarked on how exciting it is to have so many (over 60) members present. She noted that copies of the proposed SLATE were available on all the tables, with plenty of extra copies. People were asked to sit by districts to facilitate the voting for RTM slates, where only GDTC members from the district can vote. Sign in sheets were available at each table, by district, and signs for each district were visible. Guests were asked to sit at tables around the outer edges of the room. She thanked everyone for their cooperation. She reminded everyone that only GDTC members have speaking and voting privileges.

Natalie introduced the Nominating Committee: Chair, Dan Gaiewski. Members: Beverly Washington, Ann Marie Foster, Carole McCarthy, Jenna Lowenstein and Cutter Oliver.

GDTC MINUTES JULY 20, 2023

She thanked them for their hard work these past 6 months and noted they are recommending a FULL SLATE for ALL OFFICES thanks to their hard work. In particular she thanked Ann Marie for introducing a new effort of texting some voters to see if they might want to run. And, she thanks Carole and Chelsea Meade for mailing questionnaires, and SEEC forms to all potential candidates! She thanked Dan for the job of overseeing all the work of the Nominating Committee. And she thanked every GDTC member who helped recruit new candidates.

### II. TOWN COUNCIL

The chair of the Nominating Committee, Dan Gaiewski, introduced the slate the committee is recommending for Town Council. The Nominating Committee recommends Rachael Franco, Juliette Parker, Portia Bordelon, Bruce Jones, David McBride, Dan Gaiewski, Jill Rusk, Adam Puccino, Sr., and Roscoe Merritt. Dan Galewski made a motion to accept the slate. Natalie Billing seconded the motion. Natalie asked whether there were any additional nominations from the floor. When after several calls for floor nominations there were none, Natalie closed nominations. She called for a vote on the slate. The vote was unanimously in favor.

.

### III. BOARD OF EDUCATION

The chair of the Nominating Committee, Dan Galewski, introduced the slate the committee recommends for Board of Education. The recommended slate for a four year term is: William Horgan, Matthew Shulman, Ian Thomas, Adrian Johnson, and Katrina Fitzgerald. The recommended nominee for the two year term is Matthew Shulman. Dan Gaiewski moved the slate, and Andrew Parrella seconded it. The floor was opened for nominations. It was explained that if Matthew Shulman won both the two and four year Board of Education seats, he would by law/state statute fill the two year term. Natalie asked for nominations from the floor. When none were offered after several calls for them, she closed nominations. Natalie called for a vote. The slate passed unanimously.

### IV. RTM

- A. District 1. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Joe Baril, Roscoe Merritt, Sheila Perry, and Lisa Luck. A motion was made to endorse the slate by Jeanne Rogers, seconded by Joe de la Cruz. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously.
- B. District 2. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Doris Pulaski, Sandra Fetters, Jackie Massett, and Richard (Paul) Norris. A motion was made to endorse the slate by Jackie Massett, seconded by Andre Baumgardner. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously
- C. District 3. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Christy McElroy, Autumn Hanscom, Michael Gardiner, and Deb Patrick. A motion was made to endorse the slate by Liz Duarte, seconded by Paul Duarte. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously
- D. District 4. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Shawn Powers, Kristin Powers, Chelsea Meade, Andrew Parrella, Lian Obrey, and Jamie Veazie-

GDTC MINUTES JULY 20, 2023

Williams. A motion was made to endorse the slate by Kristin Powers, seconded by Shawn Powers. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously.

- E. District 5. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Gary Welles, Mike Whitney, Matt Ivey, and Juan Melendez. A motion was made to endorse the slate by Richard Dixon, seconded by Melinda Cassiere. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously
- F. District 6. The Slate was introduced by Dan Galewski, consisting of Al Fritzsche, Gen Cerf, William Keep, and Paul Fox. Dan moved the slate, Natalie seconded it. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed by a vote of eight to two, with Franco & Fitzgerald dissenting.
- G. District 7. The Slate was introduced by Dan Gaiewski, consisting of Emily Norman, Sarah Kadden, Clarence Casper, and Alexis Dudden. A motion was made to endorse the slate by John Wirzbicki, seconded by Bruce Jones. There were no nominations from the floor. The slate passed unanimously

### V. Announcements and ADJOURNMENT

Candidates were asked to check that their contact information on the master list was correct and were asked not to leave before they had provided all necessary signatures for the certification list. SEEC forms were available for all candidates. Questionnaires providing the GDTC with brief biographical info and contact info were available for all candidates. Photos were taken for candidates who so desired and were available.

The next meeting will be held on our regular 4<sup>th</sup> WED of the month, August 23rd, at Thrive 55 at 7:00 p.m.

A motion was made to adjourn by Mary von Dorster, seconded by Jackie Massett. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.